Academic Biography

Dr. Savas Tasoglu is currently an Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering and KUTTAMKoc University and Adjunct Associate Professor of the Institute of Biomedical EngineeringBogazici University. Dr. Tasoglu obtained his B.Sc. and M.Sc. from METU (2006) and Koc University (2008), respectively. Dr. Tasoglu received his Ph.D. in 2011 from UC Berkeley, with a research focus on transport phenomena and pharmacokinetics of anti-HIV microbicide drug delivery. Dr. Tasoglu held a postdoctoral appointment at Harvard Medical School and Harvard-MIT Division of Health Sciences and Technology between 2011 and 2014. His current research interests are point-of-care diagnostic devices, bioprinting, magnetic focusing and levitation, microfluidics, and regenerative medicine. He serves on the editorial board of several journals including Bioprinting (Elsevier), Scientific Reports (Nature), iScience (Cell), Journal of 3D Printing in Medicine (FSG), Micromachines, and International Journal of Bioprinting. Dr. Tasoglu holds 6 patents and has published 80+ articles in journals such as Nature Communications, Nature Materials, Advanced Materials, PNAS, Small, ACS Nano, Chemical Society Reviews, Trends in Biotechnology, Scientific Reports, Physics of Fluids, and Journal of Computational Neuroscience. His work has been featured at the cover of Advanced Materials, Small, Trends in Biotechnology, and Physics of Fluids and highlighted in Nature, Nature Physics, Nature Medicine, Boston Globe, Reuters Health, and Boston Magazine.

Entrepreneurial Biography

Savas Tasoglu co-founded QRfertile in Connecticut, USA in 2018 which received $2.2m investment as of 2020, and was later acquired by Bastion, Inc. Savas exited and sold his shares in 2020 to investors due to his permanent relocation from the USA. He then co-founded ZetaMatrix, Inc. focusing on novel bioinks in 2021 and guaranteed $1.1m investment so far. Among the 6 patents Savas co-invented, four of them were licensed by startup companies including QRfertile (Bastion), Zymot Fertility, Koek Biotech, and LevitasBio. Savas received several entrepreneurial awards including ODTÜ Prof. Dr. Mustafa N. Parlar Foundation Technology Incentive Award (2020), Wolff New Venture Competition Award (2018), UCONN Innovation Quest Award (2x in 2018 & 2016), Connecticut Innovations Third Bridge Award (2x in 2018 & 2016), Connecticut Innovations Biopipeline Award (2x in 2017 & 2016), and National Science Foundation (NSF) I-Corps Accelerate Award.


2023    Tubitak Encouragement Award (100th Anniversary of Republic of Turkiye)
2023    Eczacıbaşı Medicine Encouragement (Tıp Teşvik) Award

2021    ELGINKAN Foundation Technology Prize

2021    Koç University Outstanding Faculty Award

2021    ODTÜ Prof. Dr. Mustafa N. Parlar Foundation Research Incentive Award
2020    ODTÜ Prof. Dr. Mustafa N. Parlar Foundation Technology Incentive Award

2020    Türkiye Academy of Sciences Distinguished Young Scientist Award (GEBIP)

2020    TGC Sedat Simavi Health Sciences Award
2020    Newton-Katip Çelebi Transforming Systems through Partnership Award
2020    Marie Skłodowska-Curie Individual Fellowship (2020-22)
2020    Alexander Von Humboldt Research Fellowship for Experienced Researchers (2021-2023) – Host: Max Planck Institute
2020    Science Heroes Association (Bilim Kahramanları Derneği) Scientist of the Year Award
2020    Science Academy The Young Scientists Award (BAGEP)
2019    TUBITAK 2232 Uluslararası Lider Araştırmacılar Programı Ödülü (2020-2023)
2018    The Wolff New Venture Competition Award (QRfertile)
2018    UCONN Innovation Quest Award (QRfertile)
2018    Connecticut Innovations Third Bridge Award (QRfertile)
2017    Connecticut Innovations 2017 Biopipeline Award (A Versatile and Low-Cost Bioprinter for Personalized Medicine)
2016    Connecticut Innovations Third Bridge Award (mBiotics)
2016    UCONN Innovation Quest Award (mBiotics)
2016    Connecticut Innovations 2016 Biopipeline Award (Magnetic Levitation for Point-of-Care Diagnosis)
2015    National Science Foundation (NSF) I-Corps Accelerate Award
2015    UConn Provost’s Teaching Innovation Grant Award
2015    American Heart Association (AHA) Scientist Development Award (3-year award, total: $230.440)
2014    NIH K99/R00 Pathway to Independence Award (5-year award, total: $959.083 – Dr. Tasoglu declined the award)
2011    UC, Berkeley Institute Fellow for 2011 Summer Institute for Preparing Future Faculty
2010    Chang-Lin Tien Fellowship in Mechanical Engineering
2010    APS Travel Grant for Opportunities in Energy Research
2009    UC, Berkeley Mary Elizabeth Rennie endowment for Epilepsy Research and California HIV/AIDS Research Program
2008    2219 Fellowship, The Scientific and Technological Research Council of Türkiye
2008    Ranked 1st among graduates of Koc University (4.0/4.0)
2006    Full Graduate Scholarship, Koc University
2006    Graduate Fellowship, The Scientific and Technological Research Council of Türkiye
📞 +90 (212) 338 0869